January is nearly over

It feels like the month that never ends. And another parenting post. Sorry, I do have things to get outraged about and other things to share, I don’t like to post too many similar topics in a row but I have been suffocated by three smallish people for the past month. January just seems to go on and on.

I’m actually writing because I’m hiding. I’ve had a little tanty… I’m in my room. Hiding. I am up to date with mindless social media, replied to all my emails. My garden is 100% weed free and I can’t plant new things till summer ends because they’d sizzle. Now I’m blogging. Hiding.

My tanty. I’m not proud of it, but it was a slightly louder than normal, not smiling, exasperated cry of: “You DON’T need me! You don’t need me! Stop saying Mum, Mum, Mum, Mum, Mum like the seagulls on Nemo! Go play! Your rules are – NO electronic devices for goodness sake, NO eating as entertainment, and you don’t NEED ME! You are a PERSON in your own right! Be a person! Sort yourselves out and PLAY!” I left my somewhat stunned looking child in the kitchen where I wrenched some personal space from and …. cleaned the bathroom. Because it was terribly filthy and in a month there had been no space for even chores.  Probably not a parenting win, but it was a win for my sanity because I’ve mostly managed to have a couple of hours to myself just to regroup and breathe a bit, and concentrate on being my own person and fixing up my business.

Parenting is hard. School holidays are hard. I’m well in need of a holiday.

Leave a Reply

